CD: What It Is


This recording was done in 2008 through the hard efforts of myself and Al Payson. We put in long hours on the mixing and it shows. Al is a master. Many thanks to him for all his hard work. Also much appreciation to Phil McArthur for all his help on the mastering. Phil came along at exactly the right time and really helped us out with his giant ears. Thierry Arpino is a joy to play with. He is an inspiration to everyone. He and Al play great on this project and do great justice to the compositions. We’ve been overwhelmed by the generous reviews that this record has received. 

There are three vocal tracks in this collection, but the real meat of the matter is in the trio playing. Great fun! Also, special thanks to Nick Saya and Tyger McNeil for their drumming on the bonus tracks.

Availability: 100 in stock


2008 Lexicon Records Release


Burr Johnson (guitar); Thierry Arpino (drums); & Al Payson (bass).


  1. It Figures
  2. Slinky’s Big Brother
  3. Crossfire
  4. Winter
  5. Slinky
  6. Summer Nights
  7. Guitar School
  8. Another Shuffle
  9. That 70’s Song
  10. Get Away
  11. Summer Funk
  12. Bitter Sweet
  13. Ol Factory.
Scroll to Top